The Yaegl and Gumbaingirr people are the traditional custodians of the country that includes Minnie Water. These nations form a distinct cultural group with a matrilineal (maternal) descent line and they continue to maintain a strong cultural link with this land.
Colonisation commenced around 1828 and was relatively slow. Settlement by cedar getters and pastoralists followed from the 1840s. Over the years industry based on cattle, bees, fishing, sand mining and cropping such as bananas and sugar cane have taken place in the area of the Yurigir National Park until it was gazetted in 1980.
“A special lease for grazing was granted over an area of about 208 ha in 1932 by the Grafton Lands Office. This lease expired in 1960 with the last holder being Minnie Waugh. Conditions for this special lease included the “enclosure” of the leased land “with a substantial fence” to be established within one year of the lease being granted. As a result a fence was constructed along the top of the Minnie Water escarpment area. This fence gave Minnie Water it’s original name as “Wire Fence”.
In the mid 1940s the fishing industry was established at Minnie Water. By 1947 a series of 48 beach huts belonging to professional fisherman had been constructed on Main Beach below Fig Tree Point. The fisherman worked both the local inshore reef areas, fishing for snapper, lobster and trevally and the travelling schools of mullet, luderick and bream
(NSW Crown Lands Service 1993).
The Crown Lands Office held a series of land sales in 1961, 1966, 1973 and 1982, opening the area for residential development. The township of Minnie Water now consists of 175 residential blocks”.
The Minnie Water Foreshore Reserve was established in 1962 and plays a valuable role in the protection and conservation of native flora and fauna. The reserve is flanked by the Yuragir National Park and the Solitary Islands Marine Park resulting in a unique and diverse natural environment for you to explore.